This post contains what Electrical Engineering is about, admission requirement to study Electrical Engineering in Nigeria Universities, places one can work with a degree in Electrical Engineering.


All JAMB and WAEC candidates who are interested in studying or having a career in Electrical Engineering are hereby informed that JAMB and WAEC subject combination for Electrical Engineering for 2019/2020 academic session has been released.

What is Electrical Engineering about?

Electrical Engineering with the study and application of electricity, electronics, and electromagnetism

Electrical engineers typically hold a degree in electrical engineering or electronic engineering.

This particular branch provides students with a wide range of fundamental knowledge in core disciplines such as communications, micro-electronics, signal processing, radio frequency design, control systems, micro-processors, power generation and electrical machines.

Electrical engineers work in a very wide range of industries and the skills required are likewise variable. These range from basic circuit theory to the management skills required of a project manager.

Places Where One can work with a Degree in Electrical Engineering?

Various Career opportunities in Electrical Engineering include;

  • Acoustic consultant
  • Aerospace engineer
  • Broadcast engineer
  • CAD technician
  • Control and instrumentation engineer
  • Design engineer
  • Electrical engineer
  • Electronics engineer
  • IT consultant
  • Network engineer
  • Nuclear engineer
  • Systems analyst

Other JAMB Related Posts

JAMB UTME Subject Combination For Electrical Engineering?

For you to be on a safe side it is better if you aim for a score of 180 – 200 and above in JAMB UTME because anything short of that may deny you of Admission/Post UTME. Of course, if you have a score below 180, you can consider College of Education or Polytechnic.

JAMB UTME subject combination (subject to write in jamb) for Electrical Engineering are

  1. Use of English
  2. Mathematics
  3. Chemistry
  4. Physics

O level/WAEC Subject Combination For Electrical Engineering?

The subjects needed to study Electrical Engineering in WAEC must contain five (5) credit. This subject combination is also applicable to NECO AND GCE… The O level requirement that is the compulsory WAEC subject combination for Electrical Engineering must include:

  1. Physics
  2. Chemistry
  3. Mathematics
  4. English Language
  5. Further Mathematics (optional in some schools)
  6. A trade subject

List of Nigeria Universities Offering Electrical Engineering.

Below contains various Universities in Nigeria that one can study Electrical Engineering and they are as follows;

Gregory university, Uturu, Abia State

Elizade University Ilara-mokin, Ondo State

Bells University of Technology, Ota

Caritas University, Amorji-Nike, Enugu

Adeleke University, Ede, Osun State

Baze University, FCT, Abuja

Igbinedion University, Okada, Benin City (IOU)

Nigeria Turkish Nile University, Abuja

Madonna University Okija (MADONNA)

Ondo State University Of Science and Technology, Okitipupa (OSUSTECH)

Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti (ABUAD)

Kwara State University, Malete, Ilorin (KSU)

Anambra State University, Uli (ANSU)

Osun State University, Osogbo

Covenant University, Canaanland, Ota (COVENANT)

Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti (EKSU)

Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot Akpaden

Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State (FUOYE)

Enugu State University Of Science and Technology, Enugu

Cross Rivers State University Of Science and Technology, Calabar (CRUTECH)

Federal University Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State (FUNAI)

Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island (NDU)

Modibo Adama University of Technology, Yola (MAUTECH)

University Of Maiduguri (UNIMAID)

Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma (AAU)

Imo State University, Owerri (IMSU)

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi (ATBU)

Federal University Of Petroleum Resources, Effurun (FUPRE)

Federal University Of Agriculture, Abeokuta

Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife (OAU)

University Of Port-Harcourt (UNIPORT)

University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN)

University of Lagos (UNILAG)

Micheal Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike (MOUAU)

University of Ibadan (UI)

Federal University Of Agriculture, Makurdi (FUAM)

University of Uyo (UNIUYO)

Nigerian Defence Academy, kaduna, Kaduna State (NDA)

Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO)

University of Benin (UNIBEN)

University of Ilorin (UNILORIN)

Federal University of Technology Akure (FUTA)

If this post was helpful to you, please share it on Facebook, Twitter or Whatsapp; who knows, it may help someone too.
Michael Etu

Michael Etu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


error: Don\'t Copy, Use The Share Button To Share it to others.