This post contains what Microbiology is about, admission requirement to study Microbiology in Nigeria Universities, places one can work with a degree in Microbiology.


All JAMB and WAEC candidates who are interested in studying or having a career in Microbiology are hereby informed that JAMB and WAEC subject combination for Microbiology for 2019/2020 academic session has been released.

What is Microbiology about?

Recommended Just For You

Microbiologists are needed to do the research required for the future battle against infectious diseases worldwide, understanding the environmental importance of microbes and to exploit them for food production, biotechnological and industrial applications.

The main focus of microbiology is the pathogenic potential of the organisms that cause disease in man. You will also cover aspects of the biochemistry, physiology and genetics of microorganisms.

You will spend your first year learning fundamental concepts before specializing in microbiology topics in your second and final year.

Places Where One can work with a Degree in Microbiology?

Various Career opportunities in Microbiology include;

  • Biomedical scientist.
  • Bio-technologist.
  • Clinical research associate.
  • Food technologist.
  • Healthcare scientist, immunology.
  • Medicinal chemist.
  • Microbiologist.
  • Nanotechnologist.

Other JAMB Related Posts

JAMB UTME Subject Combination For Microbiology?

For you to be on a safe side it is better if you aim for a score of 180 – 200 and above in JAMB UTME because anything short of that may deny you of Admission/Post UTME. Of course, if you have a score below 180, you can consider College of Education or Polytechnic.

JAMB UTME subject combination (subject to write in jamb) for Microbiology are

  1. Mathematics
  2. Chemistry
  3. Physics
  4. Biology

O level/WAEC Subject Combination For Microbiology?

The subjects needed to study Microbiology in WAEC must contain five (5) credit. This subject combination is also applicable to NECO AND GCE… The O level requirement that is the compulsory WAEC subject combination for Microbiology must include:

  1. English Language
  2. Mathematics
  3. Physics
  4. Chemistry
  5. Biology
  6. A Trade Subject

List of Nigeria Universities Offering Microbiology.

  1. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
  2. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba
  3. Abia State University, Uturu
  4. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
  5. University of Abuja, Gwagwalada
  6. Achievers University, Owo
  7. Augustine University
  8. Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan (ACU)
  9. Akwa Ibom State University of Technology, Uyo
  10. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin
  11. Anchor University Ayobo Lagos State
  12. Arthur Javis University Akpoyubo Cross river State
  13. Adeleke University Ede (AUE)
  14. Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo
  15. Bauchi State University, Gadau
  16. Bauchi State University, Gadau
  17. Bayero University, Kano
  18. Bells University of Technology, Otta
  19. University of Benin (UNIBEN)
  20. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
  21. Bowen University, Iwo
  22. Benue State University, Makurdi
  23. Caleb University, Lagos
  24. Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State
  25. Covenant University Ota
  26. Coal City University Enugu State
  27. Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli
  28. Crawford University Igbesa
  29. Chrisland University
  30. Crown Hill University Eiyenkorin, Kwara State
  31. Cross River State University of Science &Technology, Calabar (CRUTECH)
  32. Crescent University (CUAB)
  33. Delta State University, Abraka (DELSU)
  34. Edo University Iyamo
  35. Edwin Clark University, Kaigbodo
  36. Ekiti State University
  37. Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin
  38. Eastern Palm University Ogboko, Imo State
  39. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu (ESUT)
  40. Evangel University, Akaeze
  41. Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State (FUD)
  42. Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina
  43. Federal University Gashua, Yobe Umar Suleiman College of Education, Gashua
  44. Federal University, Gusau Zamfara (FUGUS)
  45. Federal University, Birnin Kebbi (FUBK)
  46. Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State (FULAFIA)
  47. Federal University, Ndifu-Alike, Ebonyi State (FUNAI)
  48. Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa (FUOTUOKE)
  49. Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State
  50. Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State (FUWUKARI)
  51. Fountain University, Oshogbo
  52. Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB)
  53. Federal University of Technology, Akure
  54. Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO)
  55. Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike – Enugu State
  56. Gregory University, Uturu
  57. Gombe State University, Gombe
  58. University of Ibadan (UI)
  59. Igbinedion University Okada
  60. University of Ilorin (UNILORIN)
  61. Imo State University, Owerri (IMSU)
  62. Joseph Ayo Babalola University,Ikeji-Arakeji
  63. University of Jos (UNIJOS)
  64. Kaduna State University, Kaduna (KASU)
  65. Kogi State University Anyigba
  66. Kebbi State University, Kebbi
  67. Kano University of Science & Technology, Wudil (KUST)
  68. Kwara State University, Ilorin (KWASU)
  69. University of Lagos (UNILAG)
  70. Landmark University, Omu-Aran
  71. Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai (IBBU)
  72. Lagos State University, Ojo (LASU)
  73. Lead City University, Ibadan
  74. Madonna University, Okija
  75. University of Maiduguri (UNIMAID)
  76. University of Agriculture, Makurdi
  77. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola (MAUTY)
  78. Mcpherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo
  79. Federal University of Technology, Minna
  80. University of Mkar, Mkar
  82. Niger Delta University Yenagoa (NDU)
  83. Nasarawa State University Keffi (NSUK)
  84. Novena University, Ogume
  85. Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja
  86. Obafemi Awolowo University,Ile-Ife (OAU)
  87. Obong University, Obong Ntak
  88. Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State
  89. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye
  90. Ondo State University of Science and Technology Okitipupa (OSUSTECH)
  91. University of Port-Harcourt (UNIPORT)
  92. Plateau State University Bokkos (PLASU)
  93. Redeemer’s University, Mowe
  94. Renaissance University, Enugu
  95. Rhema University, Obeama-Asa – Rivers State
  96. Salem University, Lokoja
  97. Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa
  98. Sokoto State University
  99. Southwestern University, Oku Owa
  100. Tansian University, Umunya
  101. Usumanu Danfodiyo University (UDUSOK)
  102. Michael Okpara University of Agricultural Umudike
  103. Umar Musa Yar’ Adua University Katsina (UMYU)
  104. Kings University, Ode Omu (UNIKINGS)
  105. Osun State University Osogbo (UNIOSUN)
  106. University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN)
  107. University of Uyo
  108. Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State
  109. Western Delta University, Oghara Delta State
  110. Wesley University of Science & Technology, Ondo.

If this post was helpful to you, please share it on Facebook, Twitter or Whatsapp; who knows, it may help someone too.
Michael Etu

Michael Etu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


error: Don\'t Copy, Use The Share Button To Share it to others.